Mobile Web class. Assignment 1 (Proposal)

I would like to create an app that recognizes when you haven’t talked to your family or close friends in a while (providing it’s an Android phone). It will tally when you last called a list of telephone numbers, and if you haven’t called them in a specified number of days or weeks, an alert will come up, telling you that they might like to hear from you/might be feeling lonely/ and that you should call them. Not necessarily a guilt app, but a love your family and friends app. Another implementation could be something called, “What Haven’t I Done, Lately” app. Using the same idea as above, it would be an app that shows your call or text activity, highlighting whom you have called or texted and those you have not, with a prompt that would alert you that “It’s been a while since you…” I would like to implement a protocol for the user to create a voice or video recording of themselves that would serve as the alert they would like to hear/see.

So that answers the first question from the assignment (“What do you want to do?”) and the 1/2 page written proposal.

“Why do you want to do it?” I would like to create this app because I really lose track of when I have last talked to my family and friends, but most importantly, my grandmother, who is 83.

“What topics from the syllabus will be utilized?” I would think that I would need to use the tools available in the PhoneGap API, Events (when a call to a certain number I specify is made — startbutton and endbutton). I would also use Notifications to alert when it’s been too long since the last call to that number was made. The Audio Playback could be used to record my voice saying, “Call Grandma” or “Call Susie.”

“What will I try to do that’s not on the syllabus? (not recommended)”  I don’t think I will attempt anything outside of the APIs and plugins available.

“What similar apps are out there?”  There are reminder apps like Missed Call Reminder, Life Reminders, RemindMe, COL Reminder, Easy Reminder, Calendar Event Reminder, Med Minder, and more.

“How is yours different?”  My app would be a specific app that will be mostly customizable, creating more personal attachment to it than other apps out there. The personal voice recording will be even more vital in creating that attachment and incentive to call/communicate with your friends and family.

1 comment
  1. Great idea for an app and great writeup! As I mentioned in class, if you want to access call logs, you may have to find/write a plugin to do so – http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6277250/phonegap-api-to-query-call-logs I would suggest for this class, you start by initiating calls from within your app to avoid needing a plugin. I would like to see a little more information on how each of the alternative apps you describe fall short for you.

Leave a Reply

